The past couple of days have been somewhat difficult for me. I have been feeling pretty under the weather and not motivated to get out of the house. Since I have been married, this is the first time, my husband, Stephen, or I have gotten sick. I always wondered what it would be like...would we cater and meet the needs of one another, the same way that we were used to being cared for when we were sick? So...I have to brag on my amazing husband. I hope you do not mind. :)
Picture
Photo by Rebekah J. Murray Photography
Yesterday, I did a lot of sitting around. However, I knew that the pantry was looking a little sad. (Side note: I am so thankful that  Stephen's employer has been feeding them lunch, because it is probably ten times more filling than the lunches I have packed him this week!) I finally got myself together and was able to go grocery shopping, as well as empty out our 4Runner, which was still packed from our weekend at the Anderson Farm. As I was bringing things into the house, Stephen arrived home from a long day of work, and when I say long, I mean 10 HOURS LONG! The first thing that he said to me was, "How do you feel?" I immediately burst into tears and his response....he held me and assured me that I would be okay. There is nothing like being held by the person you love the most (in the world), when you are feeling sick. Can anyone relate? To me, it was a huge gesture that left me in awe.

It did not just end there either...Before he got home, I was on a mission to finish getting the car unpacked and the things put away. Stephen expressed to me on several occasions, during the day, that he wanted to go to the soccer field to run around and kick the ball. Since daylight savings time just happened, the evenings are getting darker faster, so I was racing to beat the darkness. Unfortunately, I lost. And you know what, it did not bother him. He insisted that I go sit down and rest, while he brought in the rest of the things on the porch. He cooked dinner for me. He served me on the couch. He cleaned the kitchen. He asked if I was feeling okay, on more than one occasion, every hour. Oh...and after I took a shower (my effort to wash away all the yuckiness I was feeling - it did not work) and got dressed, I sat in the bathroom floor feeling sorry for myself. He came and sat in there with me to talk. I know it sounds silly, but the truth of the matter is that he was so sensitive to my needs. He found countless ways to show me that he cared!

I always considered Stephen to be one of the most forgiving people I have ever met. After yesterday, he has taken it to a completely different level. It is not just the fact that he forgives me when I have a sharp tongue or the tone in my voice is a little rude, it is the fact that he never complained. What I have not told you is that he works for a company called Lyon & Conklin Co., a branch off of Ferguson Enterprises, Inc.; they sell HVAC equipment. Stephen is an inside salesman. As you can probably guess, during the Fall and Spring months their business get reallllly slow because of the temperature outside. He did not have much business yesterday and sat around alot. I somewhat expected him to come home in a funk and want to be served himself. I know when I am bored, especially for a long period of time (remember he experienced 10 hours of time), I get irritable. There was not one time, I kid you not, that he complained or accused me of being a baby about feeling bad. He chose to serve!

With all this being said...

I want to first thank my husband - you have truly been a blessing. You cease to amaze me everyday because of the words and gestures that you intentionally express of the love, care, and desire you have for me. I hope that when you get sick, I will be able to take care of you the same way you have done for me! Thank you! I love you so much!

Secondly, I want to expand the meaning, "Awe of Small." I learned the other day, as I was walking out of Walmart, that we can find
awe in more than "things," but gestures too! I encourage you to be more aware of the lengths people go to show their care and concern for you, even complete strangers. I hope that you will recognize those gestures and be in awe of the love that is behind them.

Above all gestures, this is the most important. I hope that it encourages you today to keep your circumstances in perspective. 
2 Corinthians 5:14-15, "For Christ's love compels us, because we are convinced that one died for all, and therefore all died. And he died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again."

Love,
    
Torrie Anderson

Have you had a
awe moment recently, I would love to hear it! Visit the 'Daily "Awe" Moments' page and submit yours. The link is located at the top of the website.



Leave a Reply.