I have to give my Dad 100% credit for this post. :)

For quite some time, I found myself spending innumerable hours typing in web addresses to my most favorite blogs and checking out their new posts. I could never keep up! Before I started using a Mac, I used FeedDemon (sounds awful) to read new blog posts. It is a feed reader. Do you have any idea what I am talking about?

A feed reader is an application that allows you to subscribe to many different websites. When you use the application you can check the most recent information posted/updated on each of the websites from one place. Sounds pretty cool, huh?

Here are a couple of feed readers you can use: (I am pretty sure they can all be downloaded for FREE!)

Windows users
Picture

Feed Demon
Download here.

Picture
Google Reader
Read about it here.
You must have a Google account to use it.

Picture
Omea Reader
Download here.

Mac users
Picture

NetNewsWire
Download here.
<-- This is what I use!

Picture
Google Reader
Read about it here.
You must have a Google account to use it.

Picture

In all seriousness, the amount of time I spend on reading other blogs HAS decreased since I have become more comfortable using a feed reader! I promise. I can only speak for NetNewsWire, but whenever a website you are subscribed to is updated, you receive an alert (that is if you have it running). So in a sense, it is like receiving an email. :)

This is what NetNewsWire looks like on a Mac.
Picture
The screenshot is kind of small, so I will explain!
Picture
The left column of the feed reader lists all of the websites you are subscribed to. This week I discovered that I could categorize each of the websites into folders. I loved this since I am subscribed to well over 25 blogs at the moment. Eek!

Oh! The clippings folder is really neat too. That is for the posts that you want to save!!

When a new post(s)/ updated post(s) is found, it will be noted in two places. The first is next the the website or folder (if you use them) that it was found.

The second place a new post(s)/ updated post(s) is found is in the dock. You can see in the picture below; the red circle with a "1" marked on it indicates that there is one post that has been found and is unread. I absolutely love this feature!

Picture
Was this post helpful? Let me know.

Love,
     Torrie Anderson
Steve
1/11/2011 10:49:32 pm

Finally!

A blog post I can really get excited about! =:)

Since you have an iPad too, you definitely need to check out Feeddler (free) and Reeder (~$4.99). I started with Feeddler and then tried Reeder so I think I like Feeddler better but Reeder has some great features. But then again you can't beat free. Both of them sync with your Google Reader account so you can keep up with your feeds from your Mac or your iPad or directly at the Google Reader site.

Try it... I know you'll like it.

Reply



Leave a Reply.