A dear friend of mine, Beverly, came to visit me this afternoon. I have a couple friends who I lose touch with for a short period of time, sometimes longer, but the moment we talk on the phone or see each other in person, it is as though time had never passed. Now that I live on the other side of the water, it has been more of a challenge to keep in touch. Regardless, our friendship has not been hurt by the distance and I am so thankful for that! :)
Picture
Beverly was my roommate in college, and maid of honor too! She truly has been a blessing these past several years we have known each other. One of the many things that I love about her is how intentional she is when you talk to her - she looks you in the eyes, nods her head along with what you are saying, and hangs onto every word. I really appreciate this about her. She treats everything that you are saying with the utmost respect and genuinely cares about it too!

I had a quick errand to run while she was visiting, but unfortunately it turned into an hour long ordeal. If you live or know someone who lives in Chesapeake, VA, please tell them that Walmart on the weekend is I-N-S-A-N-E!!!! We spent about 30-45 minutes standing in the pharmacy line. 

Back to what I was saying though... 

Believe it or not, our time in Walmart was incredible. The conversations that we shared were so meaningful and refreshing. I love that I can be myself with her and not worry about being judged. I can only imagine what the people around us were thinking because I sometimes forgot that we were not alone. Oops!

While we were standing in the never-ending line, she told me about some craft projects that she was working on. I could not help but feature one of them on the website because I ABSOLUTELY love it.
Picture
What I love so much about this gift is how easy, cheap, and versatile it is. Beverly made this wreath for her roommate's bridal shower, hence the white and metallic color scheme. What is so neat is that by giving a neutral colored wreath, the recipient has the option to redecorate it, all throughout the year. I think that this gift would be perfect for a birthday or house-warming gift too. If you really want to get fancy, you could include a kit of various seasonal decorations with it. I have noticed that thrift stores and local craft stores have great sales on holiday and seasonal decorations - really cheap prices on quality products.

I am in awe of the people that the Lord has been putting into my life. It is miraculous how He times out the moment that you first meet someone. Beverly and I only knew each other for a couple months before we decided to be roommates. :) And I have to say that I really miss it after seeing the new tank and sweater get-up that she bought from Anne Taylor Loft this morning! Ha! Thank you Bev for the encouragement, prayers, and love that you have poured out these past few years. Oh! And thanks for the great craft idea. I am already itching to go out and by myself a wreath just like the one you made. It is so cute and simple - and you know that I love simple! :)
I hope that everyone is enjoying their weekend. I am off to finish cooking a roast for my in-laws, who are coming over for dinner this evening, as well as redecorate our sad Christmas tree...
Picture
Love,
     Torrie Anderson
12/6/2010 09:59:48 am

girl...this post had me smiling, crying, and laughing out loud!! :) love you!!

Reply
12/13/2010 10:18:52 pm

I just saw that Better Homes & Gardens tweeted about holiday wreaths. Check it out...http://www.bhg.com/holidays/christmas/wreaths/wreaths-for-a-holiday-door/

Don't be afraid of making a rectangle wreath either! Jump outside the box!

Reply



Leave a Reply.