I have spent the past couple of hours browsing blogs. It has been so fun! Ruffles And Stuff is a wardrobe refashioning blog (plus some other stuff too!). I immediately fell in love with this blog and Disney's (the blog author) ideas because she is all about saving money and still looking cute. Oh! And she loves thrifting! :)
Since I have spent over an hour on this blog, I figured it was blog worthy! I could not help but pass one of her ideas along. It is about how to extend the life of your child's clothing. For those of you who do not have children (I don't either!!), this post is still for you. Let it be inspiration for you to refashion your own clothing.
But wait, there's more!!! Check out this post she did on clothing bottoms. Brilliant, huh?! :)

I'm hoping to offer a little bit of encouragement, in addition to this blog post. I hate to admit it, but I suffer from this terrible thing called jealousy. Can anyone relate? I started feeling a little jealous of Disney the longer I looked at her blog. An inner battle broke out within me; God gave her different gifts than you, Torrie vs. I want to be like her and do everything that she does because that is what IWANT

Romans 12:3-8 says, "For by the grace given me I say to everyone of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the faith God has distributed to each of you. For just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, so in Christ we, though many, form one body, and each member belongs to all the others. We have different gifts, according to the grace given to each of us. If your gift is prophesying, then prophesy in accordance with your faith; if it is serving, then serve; if it is teaching, then teach; if it is to encourage, then give encouragement; if it is giving, then give generously; if it is to lead, do it diligently; if it is to show mercy, do it cheerfully."

As Christians, we each have a specific calling for our life and our spiritual gifts help us to carry out that calling. This verse speaks right to me today and a lot of my days recently. I am still unemployed and somewhat looking for a job, at the moment. I keep searching for myself in job descriptions and the outcome of interviews, but the truth is that my identity is found in Christ.

I encourage you to rest in the place that God has you, whether it is difficult or easy. He loves you and has a plan for you! (I'm preaching to myself! Sheesh!) Be more in tune with the gifts that you have been given, rather than jealous of those you do not have. And use YOUR gifts to bless others! Afterall, our spiritual gifts are meant to be enjoyed by the body, first and foremost, not the individual.

So I am choosing to have a new attitude...I am in absolute 
awe of the creativity this woman has been given. And more importantly, in awe of how fearfully and wonderfully God has made each of us, yet so different all at the same time. (Psalm 139:13-16)

Love,
    
Torrie Anderson

P.S. Look for a new post soon! I am going to be revamping one of my own pieces of clothing. Check back to see for yourself!
11/23/2010 07:48:09 am

Love this message you reported. So true! I remember an artist friend of mine once gave me a little monk statue-it had written under it.."Do Thine Own Thing". I was just thinking of this recently..kind of wishing I still had that little statue-but I don't need it anymore-I have learned to do what is me-be myself. God created me-you... and God does not make junk! How can we love others if we don't love ourselves first.

Love thy neighbor as thyself-takes on a new perspective...The question to meditate on is: How am I loving myself in a healthy way today?

Learn about who you are in Christ-He will show you your gifts and He will show you where to use them-one day at a time. All in His time-not ours.

Glad you are sharing your thoughts and gifts in this blog,Torrie

Just a "few" thoughts from Grandma

Reply



Leave a Reply.