Have too much leftover fabric and not a clue what to do with it?
Picture
My back has been aching over this next crafty idea. I found it on a blog called CheepIdeas.com. It is a holiday (or anytime) scrap fabric garland. If you have piles and piles of scrap fabric from other lovely projects you have completed, you will love this no-sew project.
Picture
What you will need:
- fabric cut into 1" x 6-8" strips
- twine or any type of sturdy roping
- scissors
- ruler

A couple things to keep in mind:
1. Do not try to make your garland look exactly like mine or Katie's (owner of CheepIdeas.com) because it will never look the same. I like that!
2. Knot the strips of fabric around the twine/ roping somewhat snuggly, but you may want to move them around later, so keep that in mind.
3. Imperfection is key! Ha! Do not try to make it look symmetrical. Okay - I confess I did have a specific order to the color, but I have an explanation for that. I will get to it in a bit.

Here is a sneak peak of what mine is starting to look like...

Picture
Pretty neat, huh? As I was making this, I was staying nice and toasty by our new space heater we bought from Walmart last night and listening to Casting Crown's Christmas CD. I wish Stephen was home (but he is getting off early! woohoo!). It dawned on me that the same colors I was using in this garland are very similar to the beads used in a Nativity bracelet my Mom gave me years ago. The meaning of the Nativity bracelet goes like this...

One night there was a bright star which guided three men, who were the three wise men, to the birth of Jesus, who late became a carpenter and a fisher of men and souls. He had twelve apostles who spread the Word of Christ. But on one black day of hatred, envy, and death, He was crucified. He shed His blood for us to purify and save us. He rose and is now in Heaven seated with the father and the Holy Spirit. And He did all this because of His great love for us.

So to give this garland a little more meaning during the Christmas season:

Yellow: bright star that guided the three wise men
Brown & Green: Jesus becoming a carpenter (brown) and fisher of men and souls (green)
Black: sin
Red: Jesus' blood shed for our sin
Purple: when Jesus rose
White: Jesus' great love for us and the peace we have in knowing Him

Now when I look at the garland adorning the mantel or our Christmas tree, it will be more than a crafty project I ran across on the internet, but the true reason for the season. I hope you all take a moment this holiday season to reflect its true meaning!

I will reveal the finished product on Monday. I have plans of finishing it at the Anderson's farm this weekend with another lovely couple who was MARRIED the SAME day as us, and was on the SAME airline as us going to and from our HONEYMOON! Oh and they live about 10 minutes down the road. We LOVE it! :) Happy Weekend!

Love,
     Torrie Anderson



Leave a Reply.